Call To ACTION: Use Your Influence To End Childhood Hunger In America

by sexythinker

We’re putting together an online, grassroots army of people to help raise awareness for Share Our Strength’s “Great American Dine Out”, September 19-25.

The single CALL TO ACTION is “Please dine out the week of Sept 19-25 at a participating restaurant” Link to find a participating restaurants is here:

Nearly 17 million children in this country struggle with hunger. Share Our Strength’s “No Kid Hungry” campaign is ending childhood hunger in America by connecting at-risk children with the nutritious foods they need to live healthy, active lives.

The “Great American Dine Out,” September 19-25, will bring together thousands of restaurants and millions of consumers to help raise money for this important cause.

HERE’S HOW YOU CAN HELP:

1)  If you have a blog:  Starting two weeks before the actual Dine Out, please blog to raise awareness for the “No Kid Hungry” campaign and about the “The Great American Dine Out”.  The single CALL TO ACTION is “Please dine out the week of Sept 19-25 at a participating restaurant” Link to find a participating restaurants is here:

2) If you’re online at all:  Use your presence on Facebook, Twitter, and Youtube to spread the word about “The Great American Dine Out” and ask your friends, family and networks to please dine out that week.

3) Join us on Twitter, September 20th from 9:00 a.m. – 9:00 p.m., for our “Tweet-a-Thon” to raise awareness for the campaign. Use and follow the hashtags #DineOut and #NoKidHungry.

All the details and information you need can be found HERE.

PLEASE LEAVE A COMMENT LETTING US KNOW IF YOU WILL COMMIT AND PLAN ON SUPPORTING THIS CAUSE!!!

If you have any questions please contact kwoodworth at talentrevolution.net

54 Responses to “Call To ACTION: Use Your Influence To End Childhood Hunger In America”

  1. Simply knowing or not knowing facts doesn’t change them; not knowing about an idea, on the other hand, extinguishes it altogether….think of it! There are all kinds of physcial and psychological barriers that exist that prevent a paradoxical Paradigm change in thinking as a poplulace. This is a cause whose time has come: Call To ACTION! Use Your Influence to End Childhood Hunger In America http://bit.ly/bJn1yL #NoKidHungry #DineOut

    P.S. Everyone’s circle of compassion has to evolve to the extent that it encompasses every living Human Being; not just themselves to affect a Real-Life positive Paradigm Shift! ~ Eric Halsey

    One of the hardest things to teach a child is that the truth is more important than the consequences ~ O.A. Battista

  2. I’ll help with this. I have been around too many hungry children myself not to know that this kind of hunger carries with people for their whole lives. With all of the self actualization talk, we have to at least take care of survival nees first – I’m in and I’ll be there on the 20th in whatever capacity I can…

  3. I’m absolutely in for a post as it gets closer!

  4. Sign me up for doing a blog post, and let me know what else I can do to help!

  5. Amanda, I’m honored to join our friends and help support this cause.

  6. 4) If you happen to own a few restaurants, lend a hand.

    DONE! We’re in, let’s make some noise.

  7. Count me in for a post…I’m completely IN!

  8. Well, I was going to go golfing or stay at home and clip my cuticles but I think I can swing some blog time for this little cause of ours (sigh)!
    🙂
    OF COURSE! We all ready have on the boards blog, newsletter, Twitter, Online website advance media about it. We are even having our Promo teams in store and on the streets devoting awareness to it. And with a team of Ambassadors like this http://twitpic.com/2ksvkp we could sell ice cubes to the Eskimos!
    Ty’s on it!

  9. Count us in! There is no other industry like ours. Now is the time to step up for a great cause.

  10. Amanda – thank you for uniting this community. We have to take care of our children – our country and our economy is struggling – but we are still a nation that is richly blessed – and there is nothing more critical to our future than investing in and taking care of those who can’t do it themselves. Share Our Strength is a phenomenal organization – distinct because it has always focused on solutions – and has been bold enough to lay out a plan to solve this problem. Uniting the social media and blogging community is providing another fantastic way to share strengths – People Report is in!

  11. Great video Amanda. I’m in for a blog post!

  12. Great work. If we all get behind this it can not fail. McAlister’s is thrilled to be a part of something so compelling and important for our country.

  13. You got it! Count me in for a blog post!

  14. ItStartsWith.Us is down for at least a blog post, and maybe a mission tie-in, if we can think of something that works well for our group.

  15. Absolutely Amanda!

  16. I am so in on this project. Irving Cares is one of my family’s main charity focuses right now. They are helping the children in Irving, Texas avoid food insecurity. Thanks for putting this opportunity together and reminding me that I can use my blog to help with this.

  17. I’m in! 🙂 I love the ingenuity and compassion sparking such a beneficial campaign. Here’s to harnessing the power of new media for a great cause!

  18. I would love to help with this. I would love to spread awareness of the campaign and see if we can get it to grow in Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada where I live.

  19. I can’t support something until I research it all hardcore. It looks like Share Our Strength is one of those “cool” non-profits. I’m committing to a blog post, participation in the “tweet-a-thon”, attempting to organize at least one “tweet-up” AND making a video (I hope you don’t mind me basing it off of yours with my collar popped… lol).

  20. I’ll get a post up this weekend and I swear to RT the shit outta anything #nokidhungry 🙂

  21. Count me In Amanda! Anything for you:)

  22. Done! Retweet, and post your YouTube on our Facebook. Keep us posted on more information. Will post the participating list of restaurants when it is ready online. Thanks you for taking doing this to help!

  23. What a great way to bring awareness and hopefully we can create a movement that is for the children. I might have had a rough childhood, but mother always made sure there was food for us kids, even if she had to go without. Children are our future lets show them that we can put an end to child hunger at home..and then and only then we can take our mission abroad.

  24. This is cause for action! Can’t be easier to help than this!

  25. A great cause Glad to promote it RICH :0)

  26. I am committing to a blog; this is just a cause that is so vital to understand and do something about it!! Amanda @Sexythinker you are amazing!

  27. You all are AWESOME. TY for your support.

    Here is a link to participating restaurants. Our single call to action for the week of the 19th-20th is DINE OUT http://strength.org/apps/dineout/index.php/Google/DisplayMap

  28. I’m in! Thanks for rallying, Amanda.

  29. A hungry child is unacceptable to me. A hungry child in America is ludicrous! Count me in. I will do a blog post as well. I wish you had a list of tweets I could send out in advance.

  30. Hello there!
    Got a our online newsletter for Fresh & Co. with the feature story on it for No Kid Hungry! It get’s sent out tomorrow and wanted to know if you wanted me to post the link to it anywhere for you to see it? Let me know or if I should just forward you the blast to your email.
    Let me know lady! Miss ya mucho!
    Ty

  31. Amanda – I am in – will blog, facebook, twitter and EAT out 🙂

  32. I’m in – blog post going up today or tomorrow!

  33. Gang! It’s time let’s get these blog post out!!! THANKS SO MUCH FOR YOUR SUPPORT!

  34. Thanks, sexythinker, for heading up this initiative! I’ve blogged 🙂

  35. Good point, though sometimes it’s hard to arrive to definite conclusions

Trackbacks

Leave a comment